Elephant Adventure!

Last Friday I went to have a one in a life time experience and its definitely something I will never forget.

Me and some of the girls I’ve been with get Friday’s off from teaching so we arranged with our co-ordinator to go and work with the elephants. I couldn’t quite believe when she told us that it was only 1500 baht- that’s only roughly around £35!!

We were all super hyped for the day ahead of us!

First when we arrived we got to go see some of the elephants before going to cut some sugar cane down for them to eat. I can officially say I’m not a manual labour kind of gal and my cutting skills unlike Jenna and Ella’s were rubbish. However that didn’t stop me from having fun looking like an idiot whilst cutting it down!

Next we had to sit on the edge of a van whilst we drove to go and chop the sugar cane into pieces. I pretty much feared for my life as we drove round the bends but that’s a normal thing to feel when you’re in a vehicle over here. They don’t really have a code of conduct!

After that we had a Thai traditional lunch and moved on to one of the best parts walking the elephants…

I had the old man. One of the smallest because he’s so old, but he plodded along all the while.

Then we finally reached the water where we got to go and wash the elephants. What an amazing time this was! They were so playful and loved being scrubbed with the brushes. They constantly gave you kisses with there trunk which was adorable and the baby elephant was so playful rolling around in the water. It really was the cutest thing ever!!

I honestly cannot emphasise how much of an experience it was. I mean who gets to walk, scrub and feed elephants everyday?!

They are so well looked after at the sanctuary and all the money provided goes towards looking after the elephants . Mr Lee really knows how to look after them!

Once we left the sanctuary we went to make some poo paper. Not so gross as it sounds I promise! We didn’t get to do all the steps but we got to mix the water and put it onto a frame to dry. Of course Gwang had to help me as the frame was incredibly heavy! It really is incredible what you can do with elephant poo!

Finally we went and visited the silk market. All the locals were so friendly and I bought a lovely type jumpsuit. Everyone thought it was from Zara when we got back when in matter of fact it was the equivalent to £5 from a silk market! Bargain!!

Honestly if you ever get the chance to work with elephants do it!! They’re so friendly, warming and welcoming. Certainly an experience I’ll never forget! 🐘

Leave a comment